Tire & Chain Kit

Posted: July 16, 2011 in How To...

Tire and chain kit...

I’m starting to put together some tools and spares for my KLR650 so when I head further afield I’ll have what I need to deal with common problems. I decided to start with a kit that has what I need to deal with a flat tire or a broken chain.

Tire Stuff:

  • tire spoons x 2
  • spare front and rear tubes
  • patch kit
  • CO2 inflator
  • Bicycle pump
  • Tubless tire plugs
I bought a kit that had some tubless tire plugs/tools in it. I’ll carry them for now even though my KLR650 uses tubes because I may be able to help someone else who is stuck with a flat.

Chain Stuff:

  • chain breaker
  • spare quick links x 2

This is just a start as I need to make sure I’ve got everything I need to pull both wheels, but you gotta start somewhere. I’ll be building up a tool kit I take with me on longer rides including general stuff like a spark plug, chain lube, duct tape, zip ties electrical tape, etc…

Leave a Reply

