KLR650 GPS Mount…

Posted: July 18, 2011 in Farckles, How To...
Tags:

Garmin eTrex Vista HCx mounted to my KLR650...

I have a Garmin eTrex Vista HCx that I wanted to mount to my KLR650. It’s an older GPS I have already repaired once so I didn’t want to spend much on getting it attached to the KLR in case it dies soon.

I used a Garmin bicycle handle bar mount I owned...

So I checked my GPS parts box and found an unused bicycle handle bar mount that fits the KLR’s bars.

View of GPS bracket....

I’m not sure how long the clip on the back of the GPS will hold on for when riding rough roads, but as I said it’s an older GPS and when it gets replaced I’ll buy a more burly mount.

Overview of cockpit...

The Garmin GPS is not in a bad position. I can see the whole screen and access the joystick & buttons pretty well.

Comments
  1. […] I tried mounting my Garmin eTrex Vista Cx on the main bar under the crossbar, but only one ride proved that it’s not a great spot for it. Don over on the KLR650 Yahoo Group suggested just wrapping the crossbar with rubber [in this case an old bicycle inner tube] and mounting the GPS to the crossbar. A little higher and easier to see… […]

Leave a Reply

