Ortlieb Messenger Bag Pro…

Posted: July 19, 2011 in Uncategorized

Ortlieb Messenger Bag Pro...

I posted a 3 month review of the Ortlieb Messenger Bag Pro over on my bicycle blog. You can read it by clicking on the image above. I wanted to add a bit of info here for any dualsport motorcyclists looking for a high quality waterproof backpack to wear while riding. This 30L [8 gal] capacity bag is very tough, 100% waterproof and fit very well. It was designed for professional bicycle couriers, but is ideal for riding your KLR650 or other dualsport. It carries enough to be useful without allowing you to go nuts and overload it. The waterproof body means your gear stays dry no matter how hard it rains or if you fall off into a stream!

KLR and Ortlieb bag…

This bag is a bit big for riding my bicycles so I only take it about 25% of the time for those missions, but when I’m riding my KLR this bag is the perfect size for running errands around town and I like not leaving anything attached to my bike. I just jump off and take care of business.

Ortlieb Velocity next to the Ortlieb Messenger Bag Pro…

Ortlieb makes a smaller waterproof backpack called the Velocity which I’ve been using for 3yrs – click on the image above for details. I love it on my bicycles and when walking because it holds enough to be useful, but not too much. It’s nice to be able to throw a laptop into these bags and not worry it will get wet when it’s pouring rain out.

Back details…

The shoulder straps fit well and are very comfortable. The bottom of the bag sits on the seat behind me when I ride my KLR so I don’t have to carry the weight of the bag on my shoulders while I ride. Ventilation is good, but I don’t live somewhere that gets crazy hot in the summer. I’ve used other Ortlieb saddle bags made from the same tough material on offroad bike tours and crashed at 30kph with only scuffs on my bags to show for it.

Leave a Reply

