Long Way Down Book Review

Posted: September 15, 2011 in ADV Ride, Touring
Tags:

Ewan & Charlie in Africa...

You can read my review of the Long Way Round book that Ewan & Charlie wrote about their RTW BMW GSA trip here. Coles Notes version of that review is I didn’t like the book as it was poorly written and had very little motorcycle or travel content. I had bought this book about their motorcycle tour down the African continent at the same time as the first book. If I hadn’t I would have skipped it, but since it was in my luggage and I was on the road I figured I’d give it a shot. I made it about halfway through before I stopped reading it. There is no improvement in writing style or content from the first book. I hear folks enjoyed the TV shows that are available on DVD. I haven’t seen them so I can’t give you my opinion, but if you are in a book shop thinking about buying either of these books do yourself a favour and don’t bother. You’ll be much happier with one of Ted Simon’s motorcycle tour books.

Just to be fair I’ll say that Ewan and Charlie are actors and they clearly love motorcycles. I can get behind that. I’m not putting them down, but these books aren’t very good.

Leave a Reply

