KLR650 Safari Tank 3 Month Review

Posted: September 22, 2015 in Farckles
Tags:
35L [~8.3 gal] and room for more!

35L [~8.3 gal] and room for more!

So it’s been about 3 months riding my modified KLR650 with a Safari Tank. I thought I would share my thoughts to this point. I’ve been commuting with the bike between 2-4 times/week. I haven’t done any dirt or any touring in this time.

What I like:

  • holds 35-40L of fuel
  • range is ~700-750kms
  • extra fuel is carried low so bike feels very stable
  • no handling issues
  • tank replicates fairing shrouds for some wind protection
  • tank seems rugged/durable
  • easy to visually gauge fuel left in tank
...side view

…side view

What I don’t like:

  • tank was a pain in the ass to mount
  • required remove of stock AIS system and mounting bracket
  • tank is slippery when standing and “grabbing” tank with knees
  • last few litres is below petcock jury is out on how much you can actually use
  • location of petcock is a bit hard to reach while riding
  • non-locking fuel cap a bit of a pain to mount a tank bag
Front-side view...

Front-side view…

All in all I’m happy with the big tank. The extra fuel capacity turns the KLR into a long-haul machine with little downside on the handling front. As a commuter I’m down to 1 fill up/month or so which is nice.

Comments
  1. Balls says:

    That looks great. Are you happy with the BC fairing? What does the cockpit view look like? Any big rides planned this summer? I am planning on a panama trip with a KLR that i just bought.

  2. Abram Curtis says:

    I’m wondering the same? You like the new fairing?

Leave a Reply

