Archive for August 8, 2011

BMW HP2…

Posted: August 8, 2011 in ADV Ride
Tags:

BMW HP2...

My buddy Alex is a BMW GS nut. Not surprisingly this is the bike he rides – well a heavily modified/upgraded BMW HP2. When I read the reviewer’s comments I realize this was why I was disappointed with the BMW GS option [G650/F650/F800] since the HP2 was the only BMW GS actually made to be taken off road in stock trim. Too bad it was a limited edition bike with a $20K+ price tag. On the other hand it’s cool to see BMW address the real GS market with such a focused product. I guess I’ll just wait to see what they do for their next High Performance [HP] GS project bike. Maybe it I have the $$ I’ll finally get that BMW GS I was always dreaming about?…=-)

Blindspot Mirrors…

Posted: August 8, 2011 in Farckles, Safety

$5 worth of blindspot mirrors...

Update: right mirro came apart after one week of easy riding around town leaving just the black plastic mount so I stripped it from the bike. Right mirror still doing fine. I can’t recommend this product.

Stock Kawasaki KLR650 mirror...

One side sticky - one side mirrored...

Blindspot mirror in place...

KLR650 vs. BMW G650GS…

Posted: August 8, 2011 in Gear Reviews, KLR650 2008+
Tags:

KLR650...

Motorcyclist Magazine has a useful article comparing the Kawasaki KLR650 to the BMW G650GS.

BMW G650GS...