Archive for August 10, 2011

RAM SPOT Mount…

Posted: August 10, 2011 in Farckles, Safety
Tags:
SPOT mounted on my KLR650…

My buddy Kurt gave me a SPOT satellite beacon that I can use to track my progress on a trip and/or call for help if needed. I wanted to mount it to my KLR650 so I got a RAM mount.

RAM bar mount…

I will eventually mount my SPOT to a dask, the fairing or the windscreen, but until I get everything finalized on my KLR I decided to mount it to the handlebars using a RAM bar mount. This mount is a quick release setup and the part that stays on the bike attaches with zipties.

QR RAM parts…

You then bolt the male end of the QR mount to the bracket that holds the SPOT beacon.

This part comes off the KLR without tools…

The cradle shown above will now pop into the mount attached to the bike without tools.

GPS and SPOT mounted on KLR650…

Other than turning it on/off I don’t need to access the SPOT frequently during the day so the position under the crossbar is fine and keeps it protected.

QR bracket…

I can pull the whole QR mount off the KLR in a couple seconds without tools or I can just pull the SPOT beacon and leave the bracket in place.

When not needed this is all that stays on the KLR…

 If I am not using the SPOT for a while I can remove everything, but the female part of the QR mount shown above.

Touratech GPS Mount

Posted: August 10, 2011 in Farckles
Tags: ,
Touratech locking GPS mount…

I have tried a couple GPS mounting options on my KLR650. I was using the Garmin bicycle mount which worked, but had several drawbacks:

  • not very secure as GPS was only held on with a small plastic clip and the GPS came out by sliding downwards
  • not lockable so I had to remove my GPS every time I left my bike
  • not vibration damped so the GPS got shaken up pretty good each ride

Side view showing rubber mounts...

I used a Touratech GPS mount for my very first Garmin GPS back on my 1997 KLR650. It was pricey, but worked great.

Rear view showing clamps...

I figured I’d get another Touratech GPS mount when I upgraded my Garmin in a few years, but I found one on clearance at a Canadian GPS dealer so I figured why not splurge for it?

Mount without GPS...

Like most Touratech stuff it’s over engineered, functional and expensive!

Garmin GPS mounted on my KLR...

The Toutatech mount features rubber blocks to isolate the GPS somewhat from engine vibrations, it’s also lockable using a small key and the GPS is securely held in place so it won’t jump ship enroute.
Side view on bike…

A determined thief can unbolt the mount from the bike and grind through the mount to get the GPS out, but it’s probably not worth anyone’s time so the GPS should stay put.

View of lock on bike…

I’m going to be much less concerned about my GPS next time I hit a gravel road since the unit won’t be shaken as hard and it can’t fall off the bike.

View of cockpit with GPS mounted…

I post a review of this mount once I’ve used it for a few months.