Bajaworx Dakar KLR650 Windscreen

Posted: August 11, 2011 in Farckles, KLR650 2008+, Touring
Tags:
Bajaworx Dakar windscreen on my KLR650…

I wanted a taller windscreen on my KLR650 for highway riding. The low stock windscreen puts the air flow right at helmet level which is noisy and results in lots of buffeting. The Bajaworx Dakar is considerably taller than the stock unit and quite vertical.

Stock KLR650 windshield…

The Dakar bolts right on to the KLR using the same 4 mounting bolts as the OEM unit. There are two sharp points on the front fairing that need to be cut off with the Dakar, but I haven’t gotten around to that yet. They are visible in the top photo.

OEM on left and Dakar on right…

Although the Dakar is quite tall I am looking over it when riding. At highway speeds it pushes the air to a level about at the top of my helmet – I’m 5’11”. This eliminates any buffeting, but it’s still quite noisy. If I lean forward slightly or slouch down I can get into a pocket of silent air. The Dakar provides lots of protection from bugs and cold air.

Side view…

Overall the Dakar is a definite improvement on the stock KLR windshield. If I was 1″- 2″ shorter it would be perfect. I’d like to have a quieter ride on the highway so I am going to look at a removable spoiler from Touratech or maybe the Happy Trail Rallye Windscreen Kit.

Dakar on my KLR...

I should note that getting a Bajaworx Dakar shipped to Canada was no problem and Gerald at Bajaworx was very easy to deal with. I’ll post a long term review at the end of the year.

Comments
  1. maxim74 says:

    Hey – I know this was posted a LONG time ago but found it when searching out a windscreen upgrade for my new KLR. Wanted to find out if you’ve been happy with the purchase, or if you’d go another route if you had to do it all over again. Thanks, great blog!

  2. maxim74 says:

    Doh – just saw another post of yours re: the Happy Trails Windscreen. So, guess you weren’t uber satisfied. I’ll go check that post out. Thanks.

Leave a comment